As we wind down the school year we want to make sure that things are organized as things are ready to go for the fall. Our Google classrooms have served their purpose and our students will no longer be in our classes. So what do we do with all of that digital work? And what do we do with the Google classes themselves?
In a past Google Teacher Podcast episode we discussed end of the year Google Classroom cleanup and what you can do the end of the school year to make sure the Google Classroom is set and ready to go for next year. You can listen to that episode here and scroll down for 10 tips for cleaning up your Google Classroom.
Whenever students turn work into you it's transferred over to you as the teacher and so if we want to make sure the students have access to all their work it's generally a good idea to go back through and grade and return all that work back to the student.
Once the year is over you can archive any classes you won't be teaching again.
If you would like to prevent students from viewing the class or sharing the class with others you might consider removing them completely before archiving.
.Do not delete it I repeat do not delete the Google Classroom folder. It's really hard to get back that main folder!
Consider creating some folders outside of the classroom folder to move some files over that you want to keep and find easily. However, don't get "delete happy" and be sure to follow #4 before you begin moving and reorganizing your Google Drive.
Consider creating a folder of work that you can use the next year as an example of exemplary work for rubrics or anchor papers.
Shared with me is a filter not a folder of your own documents in Google Drive. Those files are ones that have been shared with you but are not those that you own. They will show up in search results if you need to find them. However you should not move things around within shared with me because it will affect others who have access to that file or folder. "Shared with me" is usually a hot mess, we just have to learn to live with it.
To eliminate clutter in your Google Calendar you can delete calendars from old classes so that they no longer show up in your account. You can also just unclick the check next to the calendar which allows it to be hidden from view without deleting permanently.
If you have classes that you will be teaching again consider making that class a template for next year. You can do this by copying the class and renaming it "template for (insert class name)".
At the end of the school year it's always a good idea to reflect on the past year and think about what worked and what didn't. You can take the opportunity to ask your colleagues or your PLN for advice or feedback on how to improve your practice.
Get our FREE ebook!
101 Ways to Ditch That Textbook with G Suite, tons of practical, creative ways to use Google tools in the classroom.
Please log in again. The login page will open in a new tab. After logging in you can close it and return to this page.