50 ideas for using video in the classroom - Ditch That Textbook

50 ideas for using video in the classroom

#DitchBook Twitter chat

#DitchBook Twitter chat | Friday, October 5, 2018

50 ideas for using video in the classroom

Video is great for sharing ideas, messages, and for communicating. How can you leverage video to enhance your lessons? And what tools can we use to encourage our students to create with video? Here are 50 ideas for using video in your classroom.

Video is an incredibly effective medium for showcasing something that we want to share with others. We send videos we create or find to our friends and family through various social media platforms.

Videos help us tell our story. They allow us to share our voice.

Adding video to a lesson can increase the engagement and allow you to take students far beyond what they might find in their textbook.

So what are the best tools for creating? And what are some meaningful ways to use video in the classroom? 

In a recent #DitchBook Twitter chat (Thursdays at 7 p.m. PST / 8 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. CST / 10 p.m. EST), moderated by Claudio Zavala Jr. we discussed these questions and more. Educators shared tons of ideas and resources for using video in the classroom in ANY subject area and in ANY grade level!

Scroll down to find 50 ideas for using video in the classroom. Check out this Wakelet to see the full chat discussion. Also, visit our Pinterest board packed with even more video resources.

Want to get in on the next #DitchBook Twitter chat?

Having trouble? Still unclear on how a Twitter chat works? Feel free to tweet to these #DitchBook ambassadors and they’ll help — Karly Moura @karlymoura, Sean Fahey @seanjfahey, Sandy Otto @sandyrotto, Rachel Marker @rachelmarker, Evan Mosier @emosier3, Mandi Tolen @TTmomTT, Craig Klement @craigklement, Tara Martin @taramartinedu, Krista Harmsworth @zonie71, Anne Kamper @annekamper, Rayna Freedman @rlfreedm, Lance McClard @drmcclard, Stephanie DeMichele @sdemichele or David Platt @herrplatt!


For notifications of new Ditch That Textbook content and helpful links:

Are you looking for quality, meaningful professional learning that both equips and inspires teachers?

Matt provides in-person and virtual keynotes, workshops and breakout sessions that equip, inspire and encourage teachers to create change in their classrooms. Teachers leave with loads of resources. They participate. They laugh. They see tech use and teaching in a new light. Click the link below to contact us and learn how you can bring Matt to your school or district!

Is Matt presenting near you soon? Check out his upcoming live events!

Ready to take your teaching skills -- and student learning -- to another level?
Check out our online courses. ALL under $50!
Love this? Don’t forget to share
>